OMG Cup 2005

The OMG Cup was a game programming contest established by iDevGames, in connection with Freeverse, to encourage the creation of awesome games made originally for the Mac. The challenge of the contest was to create innovative Mac OS X games that emphasize engaging gameplay in only six weeks. A distinguished panel of industry-leading professional game developers, artists, and software engineers, selected the three winners based on a combination of gameplay, originality, and overall presentation.

The OMG Cup is designed to help developers successfully release their games and to help the Mac game market evolve with innovative new game concepts. All qualifying entrants will receive a free game from Freeverse Software, and the top three finalists will be awarded cash prizes. The first place winner will also receive an option to turn their winning entry into a finished product — either as a shareware or retail product.


On January 13, 2006 at MacWorld San Francisco, Freeverse and iDevGames announced that Escort Wing, by William Hogben and Stephen Johnson won the first OMG Cup. Second prize went to Matt Diamond for Pawns, and third place was awarded to Will Thimbleby for Tracktor Beam.

Ian Lynch Smith, President of Freeverse said, “Working with to sponsor the Original Mac Games contest has been a fantasic experience. Encouraging original Mac game development is the only way to keep the Mac a vital entertainment platform. I have been overwhelmed with the quality and quantity of games submitted during the furious six week contest. It’s an exciting time to be in Mac Games.”

“The OMG Cup was created to recognize the need for original Mac games as well as to highlight the bright future of Mac gaming,” said Carlos Camacho, Editor-in-Chief of iDevGames. “They, along with many talented independent game developers in our community, are advancing the state of Mac gaming at a grass-roots level.”

uDevGames 2011

Convergence — Best Gameplay
Kung Fu Killforce — Best Overall Game, Best Audio, Best Presentation
Flying Sweeden — Best Graphics, Most Original
Time Goat — Best Story