iDevGames Forums

Full Version: You mean I can actually write games for a living?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
After all the time I spent convincing myself this would never happen, I now write video games for a living! Wow Love I'm the first employee / third coder at a startup that makes a game that currently resembles LEGO + The Sims on the web. Cool

I just wanted to write a quick thank-you to everyone here who has answered my questions and kept me motivated with contests and competition. This community has been a big part of why I still have a passion for game development. Names I can think of offhand are Will Hogben, Dan Lurie, Keith Bauer, FlamingHairball (whose real name I can't remember), Alex Sikora, Andy Korth, Marin Saric (creator of METAL BASIC, whom I've now actually met!), Alex Diener, Seth Willits, and of course Carlos Camacho.

The game itself is in a very, very, very early stage, but you can check out the current iteration here: http://multiplayer.graffitilabs.com/worl...1514000000

We're currently in the phase where we post sandbox worlds on specific forums as small-scale, quick play tests for feedback. I made the one above for iDG, but if you want to see what a larger community has done, you can look at the Something Awful world: http://multiplayer.graffitilabs.com/worl...7481000000

There are a few navigation, building, and community-related features under development (e.g. farther zoom-out, copy/paste, galleries, etc) so I might update when we deploy those changes. Anyway, have fun!

(I guess this doesn't have anything to do with Mac game development, but I think I've paid my dues in that regard. Rasp)

((I hesitated before I submitted this post because now I won't have 666 posts anymore.))
Congrats, man. I hope you learn many new and interesting things! … And then make even cooler games for contests and awesome articles for iDG. Wink
Dude, congrats!
Congrats! Smile