iDevGames Forums

Full Version: How do you get music for your game?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I'm interested in how you guys find music for your games. Particular questions:

- Where did you find your tracks?
- How many did you include?
- Did you create new tracks or license existing ones?
- What were the licensing terms you used? (IE: Did you pay a flat-fee up front, or offer a share of royalties?)

On the flip side, if you *don't* have music in your game, why did you decide to omit it?
Hello,

As a composer, I usually charge a flat fee to license use of my music in a game. I charge per minute of finished music, which is fairly common.

All best,
Michael Weyandt
Kriston Music
http://www.kristonmusic.com
I'm willing to make music for nothing at the moment, check my thread in the classifieds board.
For professional games, of course you hire a composer. But for small projects, how about playing around in Garageband?
Ingemar Wrote:For professional games, of course you hire a composer. But for small projects, how about playing around in Garageband?

Yeah, Garageband has some very good music in it. The separately purchasable sound packs have even more scores of beats, sequences and melodies to choose from. I created all the music for Touch Attack in Garageband.

If you have a little bit of a budget, there are lots of talented musicians out there who are looking to build their portfolios and work for semi-pro costs.
Originally to save time I paid a flat-fee to license music for my 1st game. It was pretty costly and limited how many tracks I ended up using. So in future I plan to sacrifice a lot of my time over money and use Garageband as it is just such a great music creation tool.