iDevGames Forums

Full Version: Looking for designer/artist collaborator(s)
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I'm a professional Mac developer working for an established and successful Mac business software developer. Although my work is challenging and rewarding in its way, I've always preferred to make software focussed on fun and creativity.

I've been writing C and Objective-C/Cocoa apps for ten years, the last four professionally. I have a wide range of skills and excellent OOP abilities. I know the standard OpenGL pipeline and have general knowledge of shaders. I have put together a small (erm, tiny) Objective-C scene graph library and some sample code.

I have, like most developers, many ideas, inspired by various classic and indie games.

I have some rudimentary artistic and design skills, but that's not my preferred area of focus. And I know very little about music.

I do have between four and twelve hours per week to work on personal projects, and I am looking for one to three other people with a complementary skill set who would be willing and able (and sufficiently disciplined) to make a similar time contribution towards making a small, simple, fun (and hopefully artful, well-designed and polished) game or similar program (virtual toy, edutainment, whatever).

I'm not necessarily looking for experience. I'm most definitely not looking for some know-nothing with a dream of riches who wants to exploit programmers. Nor am I that sort of person. (I sometimes dream of riches, but only enough to be free to work on whatever I want to work on full time.)

I'm looking to form a partnership with equally serious-minded developers. I need someone with artistic ability, someone with whom I can collaborate to solidify a good idea into a good design. Additional programming ability wouldn't be bad, either. Eventually business management ability would be essential, if we made it that far.