iDevGames Forums
Incorrect Environment Variables? - Printable Version

+- iDevGames Forums (http://www.idevgames.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Development Zone (/forum-3.html)
+--- Forum: Tools & Technology (/forum-10.html)
+--- Thread: Incorrect Environment Variables? (/thread-10046.html)



Incorrect Environment Variables? - bmantzey - May 11, 2012 08:37 AM

Hi, I was hoping someone could help me figure out why

Code:
$(EFFECTIVE_PLATFORM_NAME)

always translates to "-iphoneos", regardless of whether I'm running in the simulator or on the iOS device.

Perhaps I'm using the wrong environment variable. What I want is for it to be "-iphoneos" when I'm running it on the device and "-iphonesimulator" when on the simulator.

Many thanks in advance.


RE: Incorrect Environment Variables? - bmantzey - May 11, 2012 09:57 AM

Update: I fixed the issue.

Code:
$(CONFIGURATION)$(EFFECTIVE_PLATFORM_NAME)

should be

Code:
$CONFIGURATION$EFFECTIVE_PLATFORM_NAME

The first one was taken out of a shell script.


RE: Incorrect Environment Variables? - funkboy - May 11, 2012 07:57 PM

Speaking of which...

Where is a good list of all the environment variables?


RE: Incorrect Environment Variables? - SethWillits - May 11, 2012 09:09 PM

Do a clean build and look at the build log. Other than that, if you search for it, many of them are probably in the documentation.


RE: Incorrect Environment Variables? - OneSadCookie - May 11, 2012 09:45 PM

There is documentation, but there's nothing like seeing the actual values. Xcode used to print all of them before running a shell script build phase.