iDevGames Forums
A couple of questions from a novice. - Printable Version

+- iDevGames Forums (http://www.idevgames.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Development Zone (/forum-3.html)
+--- Forum: iPhone, iPad & iPod Game Development (/forum-11.html)
+--- Thread: A couple of questions from a novice. (/thread-1373.html)

A couple of questions from a novice. - ebulmer - Apr 30, 2009 01:48 AM

Hi Guys,

First of all I should point out that I'm very new to iPhone development. I decided that I wanted to do it professionally when I finish my Computer Science degree (I'm majoring in Games Programming); because with the recession none of the local game development companies are hiring newly graduated programmers.

Anyway, I had a couple of questions that I thought you might be well positioned to answer.

First of all I'm interested in the role C++ plays in games programming on the iPhone. So I had a couple of questions in this vein:

1. How low-level is it worth going with c++? As in, is it worth implementing my own memory manager using c++ or multi-threading code?

2. How interoperable is c++ with OpenGL|ES or the higher-level Cocoa classes (like the UIAccelerometerDelegate for example) ?

3. Is it worth implementing frequently used classes in c++ (Vector2, Quarternion4, Matrix4x4 etc)? - I mainly ask about this because I sorely miss operator overloading; I've had Objective-C message blocks that end in tons of ]s without it.

I'll leave it as that for now; those are the main ones I'm interested in. I mainly ask because I did a lot of work on a game engine in c++ earlier this year that I could possibly port to the iphone. Only problem is it uses its own memory management and execution scheme which I'm not sure whether it will mesh well with the iPhone.

Sorry for the long post and (possibly) the noob questions.

Any info would be great. Thanks. Grin

A couple of questions from a novice. - AnotherJake - Apr 30, 2009 06:30 AM