METAL BASIC

Note #1: Please be aware that this project is currently on hiatus.

Note #2: I've just posted the (horrible, horrible) source code to METAL Help 'Mogrifier to GitHub.

Note #3: I've just posted a System 7 (and maybe earlier...?)..Mac OS 9 executable of METAL Help 'Mogrifier to GitHub.

Greetings, I'm currently working on an assignment for a (sub-degree level) course I'm studying, an assignment which requires the development of a program and third-party feedback on the design of the program, the program, and the documentation to the program.

I'm most likely going to indulge in a little retro-programming and develop a pre-compiler for METAL BASIC to try to improve the language through the addition of a little syntactic sugar, so I'm going to be looking for feedback from anybody who used – or still uses... – METAL BASIC.

What would you need to do?
  • You will be asked a few questions about your use of METAL BASIC, what you feel were the limitations of that language/the reasons why you stopped using that language (if you stopped using that language...);
  • you will be presented with the design of a pre-compiler for METAL BASIC and asked a few questions about whether you believe it would have lifted any of what you feel were the limitations of that language/whether you believe it would have prolonged your use of that language;
  • finally, you will be provided with the pre-compiler, and the documentation to the pre-compiler, and asked to evaluate it, viz. asked whether it would have lifted any of what you feel were the limitations of that language/whether it would have prolonged your use of that language.

I don't believe any of these tasks will take more than a hour to complete, and there is quite a long time in which to complete them (the marks for the assignment are to be submitted in either mid-January or mid-May 2013...)

So, if you might be interested in providing feedback, please email me at F454@sealfin.com.

Thank you for reading Wink