CVDisplayLink - ObjectiveC & C++

Apprentice
I'm trying to create a simple 2d game using Xcode and ObjectiveC++. I have worked with OpenGL before but only with GLUT. I'm trying to jump to using something better. I'm just getting started so I haven't done hardly anything yet. I wanted to use a CVDisplayLinkRef like it's shown in this article by Apple: http://developer.apple.com/library/mac/#...index.html

Here is the code they provide (and the code I used):

Code:
@interface MyView : NSOpenGLView
{
    CVDisplayLinkRef displayLink; //display link for managing rendering thread
}
@end

- (void)prepareOpenGL
{
    // Synchronize buffer swaps with vertical refresh rate
    GLint swapInt = 1;
    [[self openGLContext] setValues:&swapInt forParameter:NSOpenGLCPSwapInterval];

// Create a display link capable of being used with all active displays
    CVDisplayLinkCreateWithActiveCGDisplays(&displayLink);

// Set the renderer output callback function
    CVDisplayLinkSetOutputCallback(displayLink, &MyDisplayLinkCallback, self);

// Set the display link for the current renderer
    CGLContextObj cglContext = [[self openGLContext] CGLContextObj];
    CGLPixelFormatObj cglPixelFormat = [[self pixelFormat] CGLPixelFormatObj];
    CVDisplayLinkSetCurrentCGDisplayFromOpenGLContext(displayLink, cglContext, cglPixelFormat);

// Activate the display link
    CVDisplayLinkStart(displayLink);
}

// This is the renderer output callback function
static CVReturn MyDisplayLinkCallback(CVDisplayLinkRef displayLink, const CVTimeStamp* now, const CVTimeStamp* outputTime, CVOptionFlags flagsIn, CVOptionFlags* flagsOut, void* displayLinkContext)
{
    CVReturn result = [(MyView*)displayLinkContext getFrameForTime:outputTime];
    return result;
}

- (CVReturn)getFrameForTime:(const CVTimeStamp*)outputTime
{
    // Add your drawing codes here

return kCVReturnSuccess;
}

- (void)dealloc
{
    // Release the display link
    CVDisplayLinkRelease(displayLink);

[super dealloc];