Connect to Server from Iphone

Nibbie
OK, so I am new to Iphone programming. My basic aim is to understand the underlying design principles of multiplayer networking. So to start of, I guess I first need to connect different devices, kind of like a "hello world" using sockets to send and receive messages. Since I'm new to objective C, I decided to go for BSD sockets, and I have some experience there. So I can create a server that listens to incoming messages. Now how do I create an Iphone client that sends information to this server. Can I create a client sending socket from Iphone. How do I do that using BSD? Can I write a normal C code or do I have to have objective C style classes. I also see people using the term "wrapper" or "wrap around using Objective C", which is confusing. Help me.
Quote this message in a reply
⌘-R in Chief
BSD sockets are fully supported on the iPhone. The iPhone is really no different than a Mac in how you code for it.

General networking info:

http://developer.apple.com/iphone/librar...-CH21-SW26

Some specific peer-to-peer networking info:

http://developer.apple.com/iphone/librar...cepts.html

How to use BSD sockets:

http://beej.us/guide/bgnet/

An Objective-C "wrapper" around BSD sockets would simply be reusable Objective-C classes that implement sockets using the BSD socket layer. SmallSockets is an example of one.
Nibbie
Thanks for the reply.
Believe me, I'm trying hard to read in to your response. Please bear with my ignorance.
Now,