Pascal language (pointer) problem

Greetings, as part of a (sub-degree level) course I'm studying I'm revising Pascal (having last touched the language in, I think, 2001...), as the examinations which are part of the course often present questions – or expect questions to be answered – in a Pascal-esque language. I'd been working through the programming exercises in TURBO Pascal : An Introduction to the Art and Science of Programming (Second Edition) by Walter J. Savitch without issue, but I've now encountered a programming exercise which has revealed a gap in my understanding of pointers in Pascal:

On page 688 Walter J. Savitch Wrote:12. Write a procedure that takes a (singly) linked list and reverses the order of the nodes in the linked list. For concreteness, make it a linked list of characters.

So I threw together a solution to the programming exercise:

Code:
type
    t_LinkedListNodePtr = ^t_LinkedListNode;
    t_LinkedListNode = record
        m_next:t_LinkedListNodePtr;
        m_char:char
    end;

procedure p_ReverseLinkedList( var p_first:t_LinkedListNodePtr );

procedure p_ReverseLinkedListNodes( p_previous:t_LinkedListNodePtr; var p_current:t_LinkedListNodePtr );
    begin
        if p_current <> nil then
            p_ReverseLinkedListNodes( p_current, p_current^.m_next );
        if p_current = nil then
            p_first := p_previous
        else
            p_current^.m_next := p_previous
    end;

begin
    p_ReverseLinkedListNodes( nil, p_first )
end;

But when the procedure p_ReverseLinkedList is passed a linked list containing the sequence "Mark", the linked list becomes just "k". After a frustrating time trying (and failing) to identify the error in my logic, I threw together a C (rough) equivalent of my solution to the programming exercise to test my logic:

Code:
typedef struct t_LinkedListNode_struct
{
    struct t_LinkedListNode_struct *m_next;
    char m_char;
}
t_LinkedListNode;

static t_LinkedListNode *g_first;