Could somebody answer a few questions for me?

Nibbie
Hi there.

My name is Adrian Manser, I am a student at the school gleeson college, currently in year 11. A subject for year 11 is the research project, where we are to come up with and answer a guiding question in an outcome and folio. My guiding question is; what makes a successful iphone game?
So, if somebody could please answer a few questions for me, it would be just great. Thanks.

What do you think successful games have in common?

How important do you think graphics are in iPhone games? Why?

How would you go about marketing your games, and do you believe marketing plays a big part in what makes a iPhone game successful?

How did you go about choosing the music in your games? Do you believe music and sound played a big part in how successful a game is?

Now, everything in this interview will be used in my research project, and I will be annotating this interview. If you could answer these questions as soon as possible, it would be great.

-Adrian
Quote this message in a reply
(Oct 7, 2012 09:17 PM)orseoste7o Wrote:  What do you think successful games have in common?

Authenticity and sincerity. Does the author really give a crap about the game they are making, or are they just making another freemium endless runner because someone made a lot of money with a freemium endless runner in the last 6 months?

When the author doesn't truly stand behind their game, it shows. And people pick up on that, whether they know it or not.

(Oct 7, 2012 09:17 PM)orseoste7o Wrote:  How important do you think graphics are in iPhone games? Why?

Of course they're important, but you need to detach from the notion that you need to have a certain style. Find a style that fits your game, that you (or an artist you work with) can make, and again, is authentic and sincere.