A few initial questions about my first game (2D)

Nibbie
Firstly - hello!

Found this forum through the multitude of helpful responses indexed by Google.

By way of introduction: I'm a formally trained (i.e degree in computing) programmer, with 10 years coding experience, mostly in Java (but lots of bits of other stuff, to varying degrees), and mostly financial applications. So I'm a newbie both in the sense of Objective-C and games programming. Been playing around with the SDK a bit, and finding Obj-C intuitive enough.

I am now embarking on my first game, and first iphone app (hey, I do enough 'serious' programming in my day job!).

Very brief description of the game:

1) 2 player abstract boardgame (bit like a cross between Go and Chess). One player is green, the other red
2) There are hexagonal pieces on the nodes of a hexagonal/isometric lattice (6 nodes to a side). The pieces can move from each node to the other along any of the six connecting lines.
3) Aim is to surround your opponent's centre piece with your 'strike' pieces.

So, I quite quickly got something working with Cocos2D, just to get a feel for how the board/pieces might look, and how one might control the pieces. It's just one 'Menu' scene, with a 'Start Game' option, which transitions to a 'Game' scene, with a PNG of the board, and 26 pieces placed on the board, and 'touch' enabled. Zero logic implemented (you can move the pieces anywhere, not just the node)

So some questions: