XCode doesn't realize a library has changed unless you force your project to build.

Nibbie
Hi guys,

I'm fairly new to mac development but I've been using XCode without much fuzz for the past two months. But I do have one issue that has been annoying me since the beginning that I don't seem to be able to figure out for myself and didn't had any luck googling it either, so I'm turning to this fine forum for assistance.

I'm working on a mac carbon game that depends on a certain static library that I've created myself. So I'm always working on two projects at the same time, one is the game and the other one is the library. The thing is that if I change some code on the library, build it and then build the game, XCode doesn't seem to be capable of figuring out that the library has changed, so it just runs the game again like nothing has changed. The only way I can force it to link against the new library is changing some file on the game project.

I've also tried cross-project referencing the library's project to the game project but the same thing happens. Unless there's a change on the game project, XCode doesn't seem to bother to check if the library has changed. I'm using XCode 3.1.2 by the way. Any thoughts or suggestions are welcome.

Thanks!
Nicolas.
Quote this message in a reply
It works for me and I don't even have projects cross-linked. Xcode is a strange animal though. I don't have any solid ideas up-front, but perhaps maybe having zero-link enabled might be an issue? Do you have zero-link enabled? I dunno... It's a shot in the dark guess...
As a general rule of thumb, I turn Zero-link off. It usually causes more trouble than it's worth.

The brains and fingers behind Malarkey Software (plus caretaker of the world's two brattiest felines).
⌘-R in Chief