2D Programming

Apprentice
Hello all. I come from the Dim3 forum community.

I'm a environment artist, not a programmer, but I would like to start learning graphics programming.

I am well versed in C++, just the language side of it, but know almost nothing about actual graphics programming-- I understand some math will be involved, which I am comfortable with. I know C++ well, but when it comes to actually using C++ to create a graphical game, I have no clue. Grin Most I have done game-wise in C++ is create a little text adventure.

If anyone could point me to some good resources/tutorials/info about 2d graphics programming, perhaps with SDL, I would appreciate it. I understand that I am not going to develop Gears of War in a few weeks. I just want to start playing around with making a simple side scroller perhaps.

I am already a competent artist, so the art side of the game is easy for me. The programming is another story! Smile

If anyone could give me some basic pointers, on what I need to learn, etc, that would be nice. Smile
Quote this message in a reply
I think the standard recommendation around here is to learn OpenGL. Doing some basic 2D graphics in OpenGL isn't terribly hard, but it will probably take a little bit of getting used to. Check out the NeHe tutorials to get started. When starting out you could use the GLUT library to get a window set up. The nice thing about going this route is that once you are familiar with 2D graphics in OpenGL it isn't to hard to move up to 3D graphics.
Apprentice
Thank you for the tutorial link, I am going through them now. Smile

My aim is not actually 3d graphics, as I know that there is no way I will ever become mathematically savvy enough to even start writing my own graphics engine. My aim is really just to start working on some simple, fun, 2d games.
I think that's very sensible. 2D games are fun, easier to make and easier to play.