Game Programming for iPhone? Help with Cocoa and MVC.

Nibbie
Hi guys,

I've been looking up and down the web trying to find a decent tutorial on how to start making games on Cocoa, specifically for the iPhone.

I am a relatively experienced programmer, my main languages are Java and C.

Let's say I wanted to create a very simple game, one that has a main window and that you could move a character left and right...

How would you set this up on Cocoa?
What classes would you use?
Would you create subclasses of let's say: UIView and UIAnimation or etc?
Would you use the Interface Builder at all?
What would be the Model the View and the Controller on a game?

Thanks,

Hopefully if my questions are too noob or too complicated to answer you can point me towards a tutorial I haven't yet found.

Holografix.
Quote this message in a reply
It's unfortunate, but there isn't a tutorial on this that I've heard about yet. I've seen this question pop up so many times that I'm starting to consider writing one myself. At least since you already know C then things will be much easier for you.

For iPhone I wouldn't use Cocoa, and I wouldn't worry too much about MVC, I'd just use OpenGL and straight C. You have to use a small amount of Cocoa for a few things, but it's pretty minor.

An example to start with is Apple's OpenGL ES template for iPhone. Basically, the drawView method is where you do your game "loop" (if you can call it that). Then look at their GLSprite sample. Then try to find a copy of their old CrashLanding sample if you can find it.

I don't know where you can learn OpenGL ES either, unfortunately. Check out this OpenGL FAQ
Nibbie
AnotherJake,

Thanks for your reply!

As a matter of fact I have found the GLSprite sample and I have been going up and down the code understanding little bits of it. I can see now that I will need to read up on OpenGL before I continue any further...