Creating an Age-Of-Empires-2-Esque Game for iPhone

Apprentice
Hey there!

I've been thinking of making a game similar to Age of Empires 2 (one of my favourite old games) for the iPhone, and am a bit stuck on where to start!

I've been using JavaScript and PHP for about 2 years now, and started Objective-C/Cocoa about 4 months ago. So, preferably something using Objective-C would be welcome, as it doesn't mean I have to learn another language!

I've searched through this forum for some engines/methods to use, and they are all geared towards 3D games, which is far to complicated for what I need!

So, after a few days of searching, I've decided to register and ask you all if you have any advice.

I simply want to make an isometric-2D game, and need a starting point. I had a look at openGL, but it seems to be mostly for 3D games.
Are there any engines or something for this on Mac/iPhone, or do I have to start from scratch?

Any advice would be appreciated!

Thanks a lot! =)
Quote this message in a reply
On the Mac, the best way to do 2D games is often to use OpenGL. You just use your sprites as textures on 2D polygons and position them accordingly, with your camera set in orthographic mode. I haven't read any docs about the iPhone (but if I had I couldn't talk about it anyway), but I'd assume this is probably still true. CoreAnimation is probably too simple to be useful and the 2D routines in SDL are painfully slow if you want to do anything more advanced than pong. SDL may be OK if you use OpenGL for your graphics though. The iPhone uses OpenGL ES (version undisclosed as far as I know Ninja ) which works a bit differently to regular OpenGL.