WWDC Attendees?

Anybody here planning to attend WWDC?
What is the real worth of attending? I am no longer a student, so it would cost a pretty penny. I wonder if it is more worthwhile as a networking event than technical matter, or if it's important to know people before you go... any insight would be appreciated.

I am only beginning to get into real Cocoa development... I had used Rapid App Dev. tools before, but now I'm looking to jump into Objective C whole hog. I think WWDC is more for people already fairly well established with Objective C and Apple's APIs, but I'm happy to be proven wrong.

KB Productions, Car Care for iPhone/iPod Touch
@karlbecker_com
All too often, art is simply the loss of practicality.
Quote this message in a reply
Founder
When is the conference and where?

Cheers

Carlos A. Camacho,
Founder
iDevGames
⌘-R in Chief
I'll probably be going. When I was there last year, there were plenty of sessions that were geared toward beginners, so you'd probably have no trouble finding ones that are relevant to you. I wouldn't say you need to know people before you go, but be sure to hook up with me and other iDevGames members if you end up going. Smile

There was one thing I didn't really get last year, though. For those of you who've gone before, what value do you get from the labs? I couldn't really figure out how they were supposed to be used.
ThemsAllTook Wrote:I'll probably be going. When I was there last year, there were plenty of sessions that were geared toward beginners, so you'd probably have no trouble finding ones that are relevant to you. I wouldn't say you need to know people before you go, but be sure to hook up with me and other iDevGames members if you end up going. Smile
Did you pay yourself, or did someone else foot the $1200+ bill? With a hotel and everything, I'm looking at well over $2000 for the week of festivities... would have to be really fun and educational, though!