Sfxr - One Click Retro Sound Effects

Member
Posts: 59
Joined: 2007.12
Post: #16
Awesome. Grin
Quote this message in a reply
Member
Posts: 257
Joined: 2004.06
Post: #17
FreakSoftware Wrote:I'm thinking of Cocoaizing it and beefing it up. (Zooming past a sound because I clicked Randomize too quickly is a bit annoying.) Thoughts?

Oh good, someone's doing this. I tried my hand at doing this when I first heard about it a few months back (and had gotten decently far at it) but got sidetracked by work and my other projects.

The brains and fingers behind Malarkey Software (plus caretaker of the world's two brattiest felines).
Quote this message in a reply
⌘-R in Chief
Posts: 1,254
Joined: 2002.05
Post: #18
Here's what I've done so far: http://www.sethwillits.com/temp/sfxr/sfxrX.zip
I have to go sit in a dentist's office for two hours while my dad gets his wisdom teeth pulled. Sad

These files aren't compatible with the existing app above. Somehow that one has three extra bytes than the "standard" version.
Quote this message in a reply
⌘-R in Chief
Posts: 1,254
Joined: 2002.05
Post: #19
[Image: sfxrX.png]

New version posted. Lots of little tweaks and things. The files saved are also now compatible with the sfxr.app version at the top of this thread.

http://www.sethwillits.com/temp/sfxr/sfxrX.zip
Quote this message in a reply
Moderator
Posts: 623
Joined: 2007.09
Post: #20
I like the UI. Good work.

- Lincoln Green
http://www.binkworks.com/
Quote this message in a reply
⌘-R in Chief
Posts: 1,254
Joined: 2002.05
Post: #21
UI ain't great, but it works. Spacebar works for the Play button btw.
Quote this message in a reply
Moderator
Posts: 3,572
Joined: 2003.06
Post: #22
UI seems pretty decent to me and I'm usually picky. [shrugs]

Maybe it's just because it seems waaaay easier to use already with the Cocoa interface?

Seems to work alright so far. Undo doesn't work yet but the favorites list is pretty handy. Seems like it's just about done, good job! Grin

How has the source been to work with? As expected, or tricky?
Quote this message in a reply
Moderator
Posts: 3,572
Joined: 2003.06
Post: #23
Rats, I tried exporting a wav I really liked and it hung (maxed out one processor and didn't write the file). I really do like what you've done so far!
Quote this message in a reply
⌘-R in Chief
Posts: 1,254
Joined: 2002.05
Post: #24
Undo does work. It just goes between sounds, not the changes in sliders.

The source is ugly, but short, and most of it I can just leave alone, so it works ok.

Hmm... writing a wav worked for me before. I'll check again.


Thanks Smile
Quote this message in a reply
⌘-R in Chief
Posts: 1,254
Joined: 2002.05
Post: #25
Wav works again. Silly me added another check on an if statement which I shouldn't have.
Quote this message in a reply
Moderator
Posts: 3,572
Joined: 2003.06
Post: #26
FreakSoftware Wrote:Undo does work. It just goes between sounds, not the changes in sliders.

Why not? That's where I was expecting to see undo's!
Quote this message in a reply
Moderator
Posts: 3,572
Joined: 2003.06
Post: #27
FreakSoftware Wrote:Wav works again. Silly me added another check on an if statement which I shouldn't have.

Yep, works now. Got a pretty purple icon now too!
Quote this message in a reply
⌘-R in Chief
Posts: 1,254
Joined: 2002.05
Post: #28
I figured it should have something. Too lazy to make a completely different icon..... or name. Rolleyes
Quote this message in a reply
DoG
Moderator
Posts: 869
Joined: 2003.01
Post: #29
There is a glitch when sustain time is set to 0. Also, change the bloody icon, it's disgraceful Rasp
Quote this message in a reply
Moderator
Posts: 1,560
Joined: 2003.10
Post: #30
The randomize button always resets the wave type to square. Is this intentional? I'd have expected it to either keep the current selection or choose one of the four at random.
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 

Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  capture a click without cgrectmake sefiroths 3 4,108 Nov 20, 2010 12:51 PM
Last Post: ThemsAllTook