New to OpenGL -- Transformation Help

Dash Rantic
Unregistered

Hi all,

I'm pretty new to OpenGL, and have gotten stuck on something I'm trying to work out. What I'm trying to do is create a very basic hex map--2D, all one color, just very simple for now.

I've got everything setup, but when I run my program, it appears to just have randomly scattered my hexes around. Now, I output all the coordinates that my hexes *should* be trying to build at, and those coordinates are correct. So, I'm assuming my problem is with the glTraslatef I have (line 45, link to my code is below). I think the error is within my buildHex function (starts line 41). I'm running the glTranslatef(x, y, z); before glBegin, in where I build the individual hexagon.

Now, according to most of the tutorials I've seen, it seems I need to run a glLoadIdentity() before calling that translate function, but if I do, it clears everything off the screen and nothing is dispayed. As it is now, it scatters the hexes seemingly at random across the screen.

Code link:
http://stellarprism.com/basic_hex.cpp

Any help or insight on this issue would be greatly appriciated. Thank you!

-Dash
Quote this message in a reply
Luminary
glTranslate is relative to previous translations, so all your translations are piling up.

You want to wrap your hex drawing in glPushMatrix/glPopMatrix to stop this happening.
well, I'm not an OpenGL guru, and I just briefly looked at your code, but I see a few things that might fix your problem:
Why are you drawing vertice #0? Since you're drawing a polygon, it has to be convex...what you're drawing essentially does this for the outline of the polygon:
draw a line between 0-1, 1-2, 2-3, 3-4, 4-5, 5-6, 6-7, 7-0. This means that you're going to have an unnecessary line (or two lines, since it draws once between 0 and 7, and once between 7 and 0), and this may even mean that OpenGL is interpreting your polygon as concave, instead of convex, which is seriously going to mess up things.