Where to start?

Next Generation Chocolate
Unregistered

I'm new to the forum. Anyways, seeing how I'm extremely new at game design (no knowledge whatsoever), can someone please tell me, what would be the best way to learn, and actually make a greeat 3d game one day? BTW, what would be the best languages to learn, and what is the BEST way to start possible?
Quote this message in a reply
Start by reading this post from a few days ago, then ask any other questions you may have. Let's try to keep the duplicate content to a minimum.

My web site - Games, music, Python stuff
⌘-R in Chief
That thread really sucked, though. Nothing informative at all IMO. Smile

The way I started learning programming was (other than HyperCard) starting to use REALbasic ($100, academic version is less). The language is simple (no memory management) and there's a large really friendly community ready to help. I wrote mainly applications (and some games) until I got pretty darn good at it (if I may say so). I learned all about basic programming principles and object oriented programming, and then I started getting into the more advanced stuff.

To do this "advanced" stuff I need to work with "Declares" which are one way for REALbasic to talk to C-based APIs like Carbon (the older/traditional set of APIs for Mac development). Using declares required learning a bit of how to use C, so that's how I got my feet wet with C.

One major downside to REALbasic for game development is that there is no native set of classes that really scream "game development." There is an ancient 2D sprite surface which was cool in 1998, and there's the newer RB3DSpace which almost works fine for pretty good 2D stuff, but is wonky for 3D stuff, so generally, it's just not... ideal. Then tack on the other missing features like advanced audio and device input and it looses its appeal.