Question about Core Data and games..

Apprentice
Hello, Im kinda new here, so I'll lay down the baiscs. I have been dabbling in programming for a couple of years, I started on C, moved on to Objectve-C/Cocoa, where I taught myself a little bit about OpenGL. Although I still feel a little lost in alll the Cocoa API to be honest.

Ok, on to my question. So I have been reading through a little bit of the Core Data programming guide, and I did a little test app, and it seemed varrry easy to enter in and display all kinds of values. Im not entirely sure how I could go about it quite yet, but it seems like a technology like that would make creating content for a game quite easy to do... I guess my only question is, does anyone have any idea if it would be a fast enough system to actually make it worth it to utilize in a game?
Quote this message in a reply
creating content, I'm not so sure about. To be honest, the settings saved in a game might be easier accomplished with a simple plist; I think core data is a bit of an overkill. But, saving settings is hardly the thing you need to worry about when optimizing.

It's not magic, it's Ruby.
I think it'd be kinda interesting to give CoreData a try for a game. Maybe it could be fast enough for a small scene graph, who knows? I haven't tried it but I've definitely thought about it. That said, I have a hunch that it wouldn't be the best route to take overall, but that's just a hunch. Try it and find out!
Luminary
I tried to use CoreData for geometry data (matrices, etc.) and found it to be a colossal pain in the rear end.

Maybe it'd be OK for some radically different genre of game (text adventure, maybe) but I definitely didn't think there was any potential in the area I tried.
Apprentice