Drawing RGB pixel arrays

andy82
Unregistered

Hi,

I'm new to programming on the Macintosh. I'm trying to port a game to Mac OS X. The game is written in plain C and already compiles on a variety of different platforms. Because of the OS-abstracted nature of the game, I do not need to use many Carbon API functions. In fact, the only drawing function I need would be a function that allows me to draw RGB pixels to a window.

My game stores all graphics data in simple RGB arrays with 32-bits per pixel. The alpha channel is unused, so each pixel is of the format 0x00RRGGBB. Now all I would need to get the graphics going under Mac OS X would be a function to draw these pixels to my window.

I read a little bit through the docs on ADC and found the function CGBitmapContextCreate(), which allows me to create a bitmap from an RGB array. However, as far as I can see, I cannot draw this bitmap directly to a window. Instead, in order to draw the bitmap, I will first have to convert it into an image using CGBitmapContextCreateImage(). When I finally have the image, I could jam it into the window using CGContextDrawImage().

And here is what worries me: The documentation of CGBitmapContextCreateImage() says that the pixel data will be copied if the original pixel data changes. But I don't want that because the pixel data in the RGB array changes with every frame of course. So what should I do? The only thing that comes to my mind is:

1) Attach all RGB arrays to bitmap contexts using CGBitmapContextCreate().
2) Draw next frame into RGB array attached to a bitmap context
3) Convert this bitmap context into an image
4) Draw the image to the window
5) Dispose image
6) Loop, i.e. jump back to 2)