Loading in PNG's (and other) bitmaps.

Hello,

I'm pretty new to iPhone dev (but quite looking forward to getting stuck in), I'm a bit unsure what the best practice is, and options are, in regards to loading in bitmap textures in to video ram for use with OpenGL.

I've come across PVRTC compression (using 'texturetool'), but I believe that's not going to retain an alpha channel.

Some of my sprites will make use of Alpha channel, and if I was on PC or Mac, they'd be 32bit PNG's etc. From what (limited) knowledge I have currently, I imagine the PVRTC textures, and compressed in to a format ready to go straight in to VRAM; while regular PNG's will require unpacking in to normal iPhone RAM, before uploading to VRAM (taking up 32bpp, compared to the 2 or 4bpp of the PVRTCs).

There's good chance I'm missing something here! Are there any good tutorials, or sources of information etc; detailing the various ways, and relative merits, of getting bitmap files in to VRAM on iPhone.

Hope someone can shed a little light, many thanks,
Jamie. Smile
Quote this message in a reply
You can search around the forums here for plenty of examples of how to load textures on iPhone.

AFAICT, I think most of us pretty much just use regular ol' 32 bit PNGs for images on iPhone for most purposes. If you're using a lot of RAM then you can drop down to PVRTC, which does also have alpha, but it kinda sucks on the edges. I tend to use PVRTC for backgrounds and animated sprite frames, but everything else PNG. Non-alpha images work great with PVRTC though. Yes, PVRTC is just a blob of pixels that you upload directly from disk to the GL without any processing/unpacking. PNGs you will probably just use some OS routines if you don't care about premultiplied alpha, otherwise you can use libpng or a small variant of SOIL (sorry I don't have the name or link handy, but search the forums for SOIL on iPhone and you're bound to find it).