Texture mapping meshes

I have made a program that load meshes and displays them to the screen. Curently, I'm just making all of the vertices in the shapes that make up the texture map a certain color so that I can see them, but I want to be able to apply a texture to the mesh. I'm making 3D objects, and I'm just wondering how I would go about texture mapping the mesh? I'm currently reading in a mesh composed of triangles, would it be easier to texture map if I used, say, squares or diamonds? I'm really new to this whole thing, so any help in the form of links, sample code, or anything else would be apreciated Smile
-wyrmmage

(And yes, I did google 'texture mapping mesh', but I couldn't find any useful links Rasp)

Worlds at War (Current Project) - http://www.awkward-games.com/forum/
Quote this message in a reply
Luminary
This really isn't the right question for you to be asking Rasp

Use your modeling program to texture the mesh, and load the texture coordinates from whatever file the modeling program saves.
ah, ok, so....I've got the texture coordinates in the file, now how do I retrieve the texture that I'm going to texture my mesh with? Ok, don't know if that made since...
I have one texture, let's call it theTexture.bmp. After loading the texture into memory, do I need to, like, chop it up into triangles (if my mesh is made up of traingles) that are proportionate in size to how large the triangles that make up my mesh are?
Thanks,
-wyrmmage

Sage
What you need to do is decide what API you are going to use to display 3D graphics, if you go with OpenGL then you will want to try loading models without textures first of all. and once that works you can worry about texture mapping.

basically what you would do is bind the texture, then each time you plot vertices you also put down texture coordinates, OpenGL will "chop it up into triangles" for you.

Sir, e^iπ + 1 = 0, hence God exists; reply!