Audio programming newbie

Hi again! Smile

Okay, I've very little audio programming experience - I've played with SDL_mixer in the past, but I've no understanding of the underlying principles of audio programming, and I'm not interested in those underlying principles - I just want working music and sound FX with as little effort as possible Rasp

Anyway, I'm looking to add audio, both music and sound FX, to a prototype I have running on my iPod touch; at the moment I'm using AudioServicesPlaySystemSound() and friends, but that isn't very flexible, and of course is useless for music; I'm just wondering whether there is a library out there which will work on both 2.x and 3.x, and has an approximation of the ideal interface I've listed below?

Cheers! Smile

Code:
PlayMusic( char* )
MusicPlaying() : bool
MusicVolume() : double
MusicVolume( double{0.0-1.0} )
PauseMusic()
MusicPaused() : bool
ResumeMusic()

Code:
CreateSFX( char* ) : SFX*
DestroySFX( SFX* )
PlaySFX( SFX*, leftVolume : double{0.0-1.0}, rightVolume : double{0.0-1.0})
Quote this message in a reply
Code:
PlayMusic( char* )
MusicPlaying() : bool
MusicVolume() : double
MusicVolume( double{0.0-1.0} )
PauseMusic()
MusicPaused() : bool
ResumeMusic()

AVAudioPlayer

Code:
CreateSFX( char* ) : SFX*
DestroySFX( SFX* )
PlaySFX( SFX*, leftVolume : double{0.0-1.0}, rightVolume : double{0.0-1.0})

Nothing that I know of on iPhone that simple.
Thanks for that AnotherJake! I'd seen references to AVAudioPlayer but thought it was introduced in 3.x - for whatever reason searching the documentation on my Mac doesn't return any results Wacko

AnotherJake Wrote:Nothing that I know of on iPhone that simple.

I did say that interface was my ideal Wink - not even SDL_mixer provided an interface that simple, sadly... anyway, I've taken a look at AVAudioPlayer, although I can't perform any tests where I am at the moment, so... is it possible/practical to use AVAudioPlayer for playing sound FX? As the documentation says...