Google Sketch Up

Moderator
Posts: 916
Joined: 2002.10
Post: #1
Possibly one of the easiest architectural modeler I have EVER used. Not too good for organic modeling, but for anything with hard edges (I can think of a million and 2 possibilities), it is perfect.


It only has ONE problem, it (the non pro version) can't export to any meaningful formats Cry Cry

So, what are everyone elses opinion on this wonderful new program?

Link for lazy: http://sketchup.google.com/
Quote this message in a reply
Moderator
Posts: 508
Joined: 2002.09
Post: #2
skyhawk Wrote:So, what are everyone elses opinion on this wonderful new program?

It's not entirely new. I saw a beta (or was it final) version at Apple Expo in 2004. The only new thing is that it was sold to Google, but the app sure ain't new.

Other than that, my first thought was that it was a cool app for beginners and intermediate users.

"When you dream, there are no rules..."
Quote this message in a reply
Moderator
Posts: 916
Joined: 2002.10
Post: #3
ahh yes, I suppose to me it was new as in it was the first time I saw it. Specifically under Google's name.
Quote this message in a reply
Member
Posts: 446
Joined: 2002.09
Post: #4
Yep, this would be a sweet modeller for first-person-shooter style maps, but $495 for OBJ export is a little steep! The free version's license is also very restrictive - obviously Google just wants people to make models for Google Earth and give'm away for free. If they had a less encumbered $50-$100 mid range version I'd just might bite...
Quote this message in a reply
Member
Posts: 715
Joined: 2003.04
Post: #5
Whats new about it is that it doesn't cost $495.
The pro 5 version does.
Oh if you want a low priced cool modeller check out ac3d
Quote this message in a reply
Member
Posts: 446
Joined: 2002.09
Post: #6
I tried AC3D a while back - command-Q is "Select None" Rolleyes - It looks decent in other respects but the workflow and features didn't stand out as anything special.

I'm not knocking SketchUp Pro's price (I'm sure it's worth every penny to people who use it commercially) but as someone who's invested a lot of money and time into Cinema4D any add-on 3D tools I buy would have to offer enough specialized functionality to justify the price. SketchUp Pro doesn't fall into my threshold for such a tool, but a more affordable stripped-down version just might - that's all I was trying to point out.
Quote this message in a reply
Moderator
Posts: 365
Joined: 2002.04
Post: #7
I haven't tried the free version (I use the pro version at work), but I believe the Ruby scripting API is still present in the free version. Since you can examine the geometry from scripting, I suspect that it's possible to write scripts to export to any format you want.

Anyone want to try it? Smile

Neil Carter
Nether - Mac games and comic art
Quote this message in a reply
Moderator
Posts: 916
Joined: 2002.10
Post: #8
NCarter Wrote:I haven't tried the free version (I use the pro version at work), but I believe the Ruby scripting API is still present in the free version. Since you can examine the geometry from scripting, I suspect that it's possible to write scripts to export to any format you want.

Anyone want to try it? Smile
Sneaky

tell me more.
Quote this message in a reply
Member
Posts: 749
Joined: 2003.01
Post: #9
wow, the only 3d modeller I'm able to use...

©h€ck øut µy stuƒƒ åt ragdollsoft.com
New game in development Rubber Ninjas - Mac Games Downloads
Quote this message in a reply
Moderator
Posts: 916
Joined: 2002.10
Post: #10
Najdorf Wrote:wow, the only 3d modeller I'm able to use...
I KNOW! that's basically what I said! I can use others to a lesser extent, but this one just feels so freaking intuitive! Wow
Quote this message in a reply
Sage
Posts: 1,403
Joined: 2005.07
Post: #11
NCarter Wrote:Anyone want to try it? Smile

Yes I wanna try it! This program is perfect for making game levels in Grin

Sir, e^iπ + 1 = 0, hence God exists; reply!
Quote this message in a reply
Sage
Posts: 1,403
Joined: 2005.07
Post: #12
NOooOoooooo!
I did it LOL

Code:
def do_it()
    model = Sketchup.active_model
    
    if(!model) then
        UI.messagebox "Failure !model"
        return
    end
    
    entities = model.entities
    
    if(!entities) then
        UI.messagebox "Failure !entities"
        return
    end
    
    $all_vertices_pointers = Array.new
    
    faces_string = ""
    
    entities.each { |entity|
        if(entity.typename == "Face") then
            my_mesh = entity.mesh 0
            
            n_points = my_mesh.count_points
            for i in 1..n_points
                my_point = my_mesh.point_at i
                
                my_index = $all_vertices_pointers.index(my_point)
                
                if(my_index) then
                    my_index += 1
                else
                    $all_vertices_pointers += [my_point]
                end
            end
            
            n_polys = my_mesh.count_polygons
            for i in 1..n_polys
                faces_string += to_obj_polygon(my_mesh.polygon_points_at(i))
            end
        end
    }
    
    $all_vertices_pointers.each { |vert|
        to_obj_vertex(vert)
    }
    
    print faces_string
    
    UI.messagebox "Done"
end

def to_obj_vertex(vert)
    print "v "
    print vert.to_a.join(" ")
    print "\n"
end

def to_obj_polygon(my_vertices)
    my_str = "f"
    my_vertices.each { |my_point|
        my_str += " "
        my_str += ($all_vertices_pointers.index(my_point)+1).to_s
    }
    my_str += "\n"
end

do_it()

Sir, e^iπ + 1 = 0, hence God exists; reply!
Quote this message in a reply
Member
Posts: 749
Joined: 2003.01
Post: #13
Wow, what a l33t haxxor!

©h€ck øut µy stuƒƒ åt ragdollsoft.com
New game in development Rubber Ninjas - Mac Games Downloads
Quote this message in a reply
Member
Posts: 715
Joined: 2003.04
Post: #14
Ok whats that code do and how do I use it?
Quote this message in a reply
Sage
Posts: 1,403
Joined: 2005.07
Post: #15
I R Ninja

Save it as "/Library/Application Support/Google SketchUp/Plugins/objExporter.rb"
In Google SketchUp, go into the Window/Ruby Console, and type load 'objExporter.rb' after creating _somthing_. It will print it to the console as an obj file.

It only exports a list of vertices and faces, but its a good start and wings can load up the data it saves.
If anyone makes any improvements try and get them to me and we will have a proper export plugin soon enough. Wink

Sir, e^iπ + 1 = 0, hence God exists; reply!
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 

Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Danlab lookalike in Google I/O Keynote funkboy 5 1,656 May 17, 2013 07:47 AM
Last Post: Skorche
  Google+ Invites EvolPenguin 0 2,528 Jun 30, 2011 07:36 AM
Last Post: EvolPenguin
  Google Voice Carlos Camacho 9 5,046 Nov 12, 2009 06:18 AM
Last Post: ERaZer
  Google Ads Duane 2 3,006 Jul 22, 2008 09:34 PM
Last Post: kodex