How to get started in game development!

Edit: There's a more thorough article, here: http://www.idevgames.com/articles/for-beginners

0. An idea

When you think you're finally ready to create a game, or to start your journey in game development, the first problem you'll encounter is come up with a good idea. All too often the first ideas that come up are copies of the current state of the games. The idea here is to stay with your feet on the ground.

You either fall into 2 categories:

a) you're a complete beginner with little or no programming experience

In this case, start simple. Try to copy an old school game like Pac Man, Missile Command, or perhaps a simple board game like checkers.. You would surprised how much success a game like these can have. Not only will you be making a game that most people will be able to run, but also most of them will already know the rules and can start playing immediatly.

b) you're an expericed programmer or have at least read a book about C

When you already know what programming is all about then it's a little easier for you to get started on the more advanced games. Even when you are an experienced programmer, it doesn't hurt to start off simple, just to get to the feeling how programming games differ from boring administration applications.
In some cases you may want to learn a new language or learn about some specific topics.

1. The languages

There are so many computer languages that many beginners get lost in them and never learn anything. I'll cover the most appropriate languages here. If you thought you could make a game in COBOL, you are in the wrong place.

a) C

This is one of the most prefered languages by programmers. While it may look complex at times, it's actually very logical. Most games are written in C, Marathon and Duke Nukem 3D to name just a few.
One of the most difficult parts to understand, at least for beginners, are pointers. But once you know them well enough, you will write your game in no time.