I Wanna Make A FlatShaded 3D Polygonal World War II Flight Simulator

CaryMG
Unregistered

Hey!

I accidently stumbled onto this most cool website & it's a good thing I did 'cause I can think of no place better ta get the info I'm looking for ....

See these ?

[Image: A-10Attack6.jpg]
"A-10 Attack!"

[Image: Sentrya.jpg]
"Sentry"

I think there's something to be said for flatshaded 3D polygonal graphics -- clean .... uncumbersome .... clear .... don't you agree?

"ParSoft", the development wizards begind "A-10 Attack!", also did a beautiful flatshaded 3D polygonal World War II flight simulator, but it was in the Pacific & not Europe.

What I'd like ta do is use the same asthetic & make a European-based one.
And I'd like ta have MIDI music & FX.
Keep it nice & simple.
And I'd like it to be playable online for Macintosh computers with "System 6" & up.

Except BASIC, I have no programming experience, so I'd like ta know ....
What engine should a beginner use ta get the kinda graphics in the screenshots?
What programming language should I use?
How would I incorporate MIDI music & FX?

Thanks In Advance!
- CaryMG
cary@easy.com
Smile Smile Smile

P.S. : How do I upload an avatar?
Quote this message in a reply
CaryMG Wrote:And I'd like it to be playable online for Macintosh computers with "System 6" & up.

Good luck with that Annoyed

"When you dream, there are no rules..."
Well BASIC is a good start, there are some modern day compliers that still use basic today. Blitz Basic and RealBasic come to mind though I have no experince with either.

The graphics in the screen shot would be fairly easy to do with modern OpenGL, im not sure when you say engine if you are looking to create a game through a mod system if so there are several engines you could go with; Dim3 (not sure if it can do this kind of game) Unity, Torque.