Why not Java?

Apprentice
I saw the thread about languages/tools/enviroments used for UDG contests, and Java was near the bottom. Is there any reason why? Its got decent graphics, offers built in graphics, mouse/advanced keyboard is built in, GUIs are built in, networking is built in, its one of the best documented languages around, comes installed on every mac.

I know previously it had issues with speed and some things were poorly designed, is there any reason not to use it for the OMGCup?

Reason I am asking is because I am looking for an alternative to TNTBasic (need something with OOP and a few other things), but cant stand ruby, and don't want to deal with having to keep SDL or anything packaged (I have never done so before, and don't need any more hassles)

Please do not answer with which language I can use, dont mean to be rude, but from my experience, it always ends up in either a flame war or exaggerated claims
Quote this message in a reply
Luminary
It's slow, it's very little easier to program in than C++, and if you want graphics that go faster than a snail's pace you have to package one of the Java bindings for OpenGL with your app anyway...
Apprentice
Its not that slow these days, its being used for decent graphical stuff, but i can see what youre saying in terms of gaming, which is more intese than most proce55ing stuff