OpenGL, core video and live video

kensuguro
Unregistered

I'm still a total newbie so I'm not trying to change world quite yet, but I want to know the big picture so I can maintain focus as I figure out the basics. My goal right now is to get a full screen output of live video. So, it's just a full screen preview. After that, I'd like to make use of the new core image filters and see if I can do some real time effects using the hardware accelerated effects.

Here's my wild guess:
I'm guessing that the video is going to come in through sequence grabber component, have that become an openGL texture at some point, project that to a plane in OpenGL, and wala I see it on screen. Is this the basic picture? I've read a bunch of tutorials and documentations but they're too detailed and I can't put together the "big" picture..

I'm not at all clear on how I'd apply the core image filters. Once the incoming video frames are OpenGL textures, do I just feed them to a set of filtering methods? Not really sure how all this stuff integrates together.

So nevermind the details, can anyone show me the big picture?
Quote this message in a reply
Luminary
apple has sample code of applying coreimage filters to quicktime video, I suggest you start there.
kensuguro
Unregistered

to get this straight... forget live video input for now. I'm trying to start a project that loads a bitmap, does raster pixel crunching type effects, and then throws that on the screen.