do you feel you're improving your coding?

One of the things that amaze me about coding is that I feel constantly improving. In no other thing I do I feel such a consistent progress. I always notice that the code that I wrote 3 or more months ago sucks to my "current" standards.

Doing math, studying things (I'm an economics phd student), solving problems I very rarely feel I'm improving substantially. But learning to keep things organized and neat when coding is something that really comes with time and no matter if you think that your current style is the "good" one, you will always be able to find a better one. If they asked me what I do best I would probably say coding, even though I never studied computer science and I'm really an amateur.

©h€ck øut µy stuƒƒ åt ragdollsoft.com
New game in development Rubber Ninjas - Mac Games Downloads
Quote this message in a reply
Sage
Ive never studied computing apart from at school, I feel like ive grown drasticly from when I last was coding because I came up against so many brick walls that now just seem like small hurdles. Ive not been coding as well I could though, my styles been sort of mish mash with a lot of trial and error for my graphics routines for the last two games ive made, but I feel like I should be doing everything more mathematically but then if it works it works?
So id say my coding has greatly improved my style is not as crisp as I want.

Sir, e^iπ + 1 = 0, hence God exists; reply!
Over many years I have improved, yes. I have improved my style especially due to effective peer reviews this summer, and my reasoning/thinking simply from tackling many different projects.

You should see similar improvement with things like math, though, since that's a fairly straightforward learning process. You don't know how to integrate, take a couple semesters of calculus and you do.

KB Productions, Car Care for iPhone/iPod Touch
@karlbecker_com
All too often, art is simply the loss of practicality.