Sdl, X11, Os X...

5thPeriodProductions
Unregistered

I seem to remember reading that libsdl.org Mac OS X libraries are meant for Aqua use, and not X11. Now, I haven't started any sort of SDL development (for a lot of reasons), so I thought I'd make sure I knew what I could and couldn't do first.

I'm interested in teaming up with a number of friends to develop cross-platform games (we have OS X, Windows and Linux access between us), so I thought SDL and OpenGL would be good choices.

I'd like to work with Objective C, simply because I like it and it makes some sense to me, but it's not world-ending if I'm forced to use C and C++.

What's the deal with OpenAL? Doesn't SDL handle audio?

Yes, these are newbie questions. But, guess what, I'm a newbie. Oh, and 5thPeriodProductions = WaaMatt (used to post here under that name).
Quote this message in a reply
Eh, why would SDL support X11 on Mac OS X when X11 is an optional package? As for your audio issues, I'd suggest you take a look a SDL_mixer.

Mark Bishop
--
Student and freelance OS X & iOS developer
Luminary
You can build SDL for X11 on Mac OS X if you want to, though I don't know why you would. The native port works perfectly well.

You can use ObjC on all the platforms, but you don't get any Cocoa with it, and it forces you to use GCC on all the platforms, which probably won't go down too well with your friends Wink

SDL has its own audio (SDL_mixer) but OpenAL is also a good choice, and potentially hardware-accelerated if the user has audio hardware.
SDL can handle audio itself without any extra libraries, but you're obliged to mix the audio yourself. That's potentially quite technical, although you can do anything you like with it that way.