Core Audio mutlichannel audio

Post: #1
Hi guys,

I've recently aquired an emagic a26 usb sound card and am having trouble getting core audio to initialize with anything other than 2 channels.

I am using AudioDeviceSetProperty() to set the number of channels. Anything other than 2 returns an error.

The card in windows works fine with multi-channel so i know its not a problem with the card.

Any help would be appriciated.

Quote this message in a reply
Posts: 156
Joined: 2002.11
Post: #2
There's a way to get info on all audio devices installed in your computer, both physical and stream formats. The HALLab source code that comes with Xcode (or CoreAudio SDK) shows you how to play audio throught any number of channels. It's a bit more involved than what is seems.
Quote this message in a reply
Post: #3
thanks, i had a look at the HALLab example and it was exactly what i needed Smile
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 

Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Starting audio development justking14 0 1,767 Jan 8, 2015 07:38 PM
Last Post: justking14
  EZAudio - an iOS/OSX audio processing and visualization framework syedhali07 2 7,149 Mar 22, 2014 07:58 PM
Last Post: samqthegame
  Audio limitations for Phones trurkowski 3 4,702 Sep 25, 2012 03:17 PM
Last Post: trurkowski
  Core Audio SDK Code Examples SparkyNZ 4 11,982 Jun 9, 2011 02:34 AM
Last Post: SparkyNZ
  Audio Queues Xavier 138 105,206 Feb 16, 2011 01:23 AM
Last Post: yige