Beginners math-question on movement. (trigonometry)

Fruity
Unregistered

Let me first say that I've searched the archive for this, but couldn't seem to find anything on the subject.

I'm a beginner with programming games, and downloaded the BlitzMax-demo a couple of days ago. I'm trying to figure out some things about movement, on a very simple project.

I have a white dot, and that's all I have. Smile When I click somewhere on the screen, I want the dot to move to that location at a set speed. So what I need is to first find out the angle which it will follow, and then I have to make it go at the same speed for every kinds of angles. (If it moves 0 degrees at a speed of X=X+100 per second, it should move 45 degrees at a speed X=X+(somewhat less than 100), for it to look right.)

After giving this problem quite a bit of thought (several years since I learned this stuff in mathematics-class, and I can't find my old books telling me how to do it), I think I may have remembered what I need. I just thought I'd ask you to look over it and tell me if I have forgotten something..

-------------------
The white dot is at (X0,Y0).
The point it will go to is (X1,Y1).

To find the angle between these points I will first have to check where the new location is, compared to the other. In my thoughts I draw an imaginary triangle, with angles A,B and C, and opposing sides a,b and c. Angle B is at the point (X0,Y0), angle A is 90 degrees, angle C is at the point (X1,Y1). (I snatched a pic from the internet that might make things clearer.)
[Image: gon3.gif]

There are four possibilities:
  • X1 > X0 and Y1 > Y0.
  • X1 < X0 and Y1 > Y0.
  • X1 < X0 and Y1 < Y0.
  • X1 > X0 and Y1 < Y0.

Depending on this, there are four ways to calculate the angles:
  • If X1 > X0 and Y1 > Y0.

To find the angle B we use tan-1 (b/c) (inverse tangent(spelling?))
  • X1 < X0 and Y1 > Y0.

To find the angle B we use 90deg - tan-1 (b/c)
  • X1 < X0 and Y1 < Y0.