Choosing a game and a tool

Nibbie
Hi everyone! I'm a new member, glad to have joined you. I have a very newbie-question.

The thing is, I am an ex full-time level designer. I have spent years earlier on level design with Valve's worldcraft/hammer level editor for Half Life and Half Life 2. I created lots of levels, amongst them ; "Half Life : Trespasser" (info : http://www.home.no/elkyboy)

I chose to buy a mac one and a half years ago, but I still haven't found a tool or a game that was as easy as Valve Hammer/worldcraft. What would be the best tool to choose for mac when I'm interested in level design ? (not game design as I have no knowledge about coding whatsoever)

I know a lot's of games are available for mac, but since it is a big market I would really appreciate help from you Smile

Greetings,
ArMEd_Elk
Quote this message in a reply
Unfortunately, just for pure level editing on Mac, there really isn't much that I've seen over the years. GtkRadiant is about all I can think of.
This is something that interests me a bit. I used to have loads of fun creating levels for Duke Nukem. The Build engine's many limitations made it easy and great fun to get into level design, but there was enough scope that people came out with fantastically sophisticated, creative and polished maps.

With today's FPS engines, level design seems to be more about importing and positioning models - not simple either, considering the need to keep assets together and create different versions for the physics and the graphics. I find it tedious and complicated, and now I have a degree in a related field. I think modding was much more approachable in that era, and I'm thankful for that because it's probably part of the reason I'm interested in creating games today.

Not a lot of help to you, I know, but I thought I'd take the opportunity to have a little rant. Smile
Nibbie