Advance Wars Online?

guardian1102
Unregistered

For those of you who doesn't own a GBA (GameBoy Advance) and are not familiar with the game "Advance Wars", I'd suggest visiting Gamespot's review of this game. Below are the links of the two sequals of the game:

Advance Wars
Advance Wars II

I've been playing these games for a couple of months now and one day, while I was playing AW, I've thought up of the idea of playing it online. Being a simple turn based strategy game like chess, I don't see why it would be difficult to develop an online version of this game (or at least a copy-cat of this game) for the PC platform.

Why a PC platform?
So far, most online games are played through the PC (with the exception of console games, eg. X-Box, PS2, Gamecube). So I figured out since most gamers nowadays have a PC and access to the Internet at home, a PC owner can easily purchase/download this game without having to buy other game platforms (GBA and the new Nintendo's DS in particular).

Why Online?
As a GBA owner, I find that this game highly addictive and enjoyable. But after playing AWI & AWII against computer opponents, I find that this game can get too predictably and sometimes too easy to play. Also the option of playing with the "single-pak" and the "multi-pak" option is a bit tedious. Why? Because you'd need to:
1) Get opponent player/s to be in the same room with you
2) Players need to either own their own GBA and the same game OR pass the single GBA back and forth to players

Also, the option of playing online through the PC bring up several advantages:
1) Players can play over the net anytime of the day 24/7 against other international players
2) Match wits against your opponents and show-off your ranking TO THE WORLD
3) Be famous (or infamous)
4) Make this game internationaly recognise (like Warcraft III series) rather then playing alone or with a small group of people
5) Updates keep the game fresh with new units/map/COs/etc