ALT: Step 1: I Am a Noob

keithrolf
Unregistered

I am a complete noob to programming. Game or otherwise.

I want to design and program games one day. I know nothing whatsoever about mac programming.

Where is the best place for me to start learning?

Remember, I am a noob, so throwing code libraries etc. isn't going to help. I'm thinking more along the lines of a very simple tutorial on where to find dev tools how they work and maybe writing a "hello world" app.

Thx!
Quote this message in a reply
keithrolf
Unregistered

Also, any suggestions for the "best" beginning programmers book (for Cocoa I guess) would be helpful.

Thx!
Your best bet probably is to first learn METAL Basic and/or TNT Basic. (anyone have some linkage?) They allow you to get into programming games without needing to know the stupid nitty-gritty. Feel free to post any questions you may have!
Unfortunately, both METAL and TNT Basic amount to jack in the long run, but if you really know absolutely nothing, they might be a good place to start. I suggest learning Obj-C and Cocoa.
If you just bought a mac the dev tools should be on your hard drive ready to install. If you just bought Panther, it should be on those CD's.
Else the older Project Builder dev tools will be with your Mac OS cd's.

go htpp://developer.apple.com and sign up for the free online ADC.
At least to join up...their site alone is a maze of confusion for newb, but at least you will have the sign up part out of the way and you can occasionally browse their files and source samples for inspiring things to boggle the mind. Project builder makes a nice text editor when you don't know how to program at least

Somewhere in that mess at apple is a cocoa tutorial for building some crap apps(currency converter, and ..some other trash). Why they don't have pong or something fun like even hangman is beyond me.

As for books..related to game dev, I've not come across one that takes you from nothing to something that isn't for Windows.