Game programming for kids

Darrell
Unregistered

hi folks. new to the list here, and an admitted neophyte when it comes to any kind of programming. my 11-year-old is interested in game design, and i was wondering if anyone knows of a OS X 'drag-and-drop' style program that will be easily understood and give quick results to a young man.

thanks,
darrell adams
Quote this message in a reply
If you can endure Mac OS 9, I suggest Klik&Play - I'm pretty sure it has been discontinued by the publisher/developer, but you should be able to locate a download on a couple of abandonware sites if you do a few searches.

I've no experience with these, but there are also The Green Machine or iGame3D (the latter of which requires scripting.)

Elsewise, I'm pretty sure ColdStone is the nearest equivalent, but limited to the role-play genre.
I'm not sure of any others.

(By the way, aren't these all in the FAQ anyway?)

Mark Bishop
--
Student and freelance OS X & iOS developer
jamie
Unregistered

A good basic language to learn would be TNT Basic. It's not drag and drop but it is certainly something an 11 year old could get some basic games built with. There are some good starting examples at the TNT Basic site to work through that would get him going almost immediately.
Nibbie
If he/she has a firm grasp of math (maybe even algebra) try Metal Basic http://www.iit.edu/~sarimar/GDS (free, unlike Coldstone and TNT, ~4MB), I'v been using it since I was 9. Also if you want a good tutorial check out http://www.nuclearnova.com/tutorial.htm (I helped with the Tile engine tutorial) and there is a great support forum right here at iDG!
Yes, I'd definitely teach the kid BASIC or perhaps the kid could teach him/herself BASIC. I learned BASIC when I was ten and it did give me a basic grasp of programming. The kid has some good dreams there. I was and still am in the same boat. I'd like to become a game designer and learning programming.