glDrawArrays

I want to implement vertex arrays into my program.. Cause as of right now I am calling sin & cos every frame... a couple hundred times a frame.. so you can see that is pretty damn slow.

anyways, I have never used a vertex array before, I know that I can use glDrawArray to get the job done, but is there any other setup I need to do before making the call to glDrawArray?

also for the normals of my objects, would it be benefiicial to also store them in an array? I'd assume the time/space trade off is worth it... just a thought..

any little psuedo code examples of how you would use glDrawArrays would be awesome..

/* Drunk...... fix later.... */
Quote this message in a reply
First you must enable the client state for what you want to do by calling glEnableClientState() with GL_VERTEX_ARRAY, GL_NORMAL_ARRAY, GL_COLOR_ARRAY, GL_INDEX_ARRAY, GL_TEXTURE_COORD_ARRAY, etc..

Then you pass in your arrays using the specified functions: glVertexPointer(), glNormalPointer(), glColorPointer(), etc..

And finally you draw the object.. glDrawArrays(drawMode,startIndex,numVertices)

Take a look at http://home.clara.net/paulyg/prog6.htm. It doesn't use glDrawArrays, but it shows you how to set up your app to do it.
Mars_999
Unregistered

Yes you can store normals in arrays. I have VBO's up and running and have texure, normals, vertex data all stored in VBO's!

Here is some code
Code:
glEnableClientState(GL_VERTEX_ARRAY);
    glEnableClientState(GL_NORMAL_ARRAY);
    glVertexPointer(3, GL_FLOAT, nVertexStride, &terrain[0][0].vx);
    glNormalPointer(GL_FLOAT, nVertexStride, &terrain[0][0].nx);

glActiveTextureARB(GL_TEXTURE0_ARB);
    glEnable(GL_TEXTURE_2D);
    glBindTexture(GL_TEXTURE_2D, texture[ROCK]);
    glClientActiveTextureARB(GL_TEXTURE0_ARB);
    glEnableClientState(GL_TEXTURE_COORD_ARRAY);
    glTexCoordPointer(2, GL_FLOAT, nVertexStride, &terrain[0][0].tx);

glActiveTextureARB(GL_TEXTURE1_ARB);
    glEnable(GL_TEXTURE_2D);