Objective C and game development

Nibbie
I have a little problem. I am looking for a Objective C game development framework. I want to make mac games/2D applications and maybe iPhone. For now I don't need multiplatform support but it could be useful. I am an iPhone developer so I know objective C (I make utility apps so no graphics), but I also know Java. I also have some basic experience with C++ (no objective programming or pointers - just functions, structures, arrays...). What I want to make now is actualy an application that needs 2D graphics. I tryed open GL but it is hard to learn and maybe overkill. I can't use software for making games that supports scripting because it is too limited for some of my ideas. So basicly what I need is an mac OS framework for making games.
Quote this message in a reply
Perhaps SDL? It's a cross-platform C framework, so it's just functions and structs at its core, but you could write something in Objective-C that utilizes SDL with no trouble at all. SDL even comes with a prebuilt framework for OS X, so it's pretty easy to incoprorate into your project. Plus, SDL has OpenGL support, so if you ever decide that you do want to move to OpenGL for graphics, you can do so with (most likely) minimal effort. And I think I heard somewhere that you can use SDL for iPhone apps, but I'm not sure about this.

One major drawback that I can think of is that SDL is more of a multimedia/graphics library, so it's not really an actual game development framework. In other words, it has no provisions for sprite management, collision detection, and so forth. So while it sounds like SDL would be perfect for the app you want to make now, it might not be the most ideal framework if you ever want to use an actual game development framework sometime in the future.