Network play

I have no experience with any programming that is internet-related, and was wondering if anybody knows of any resources for Mac OS 9/X networking. Does anyone have any experience writing multiplayer games?
Quote this message in a reply
Luminary
Don't try & do 9 & X unless you use OpenPlay. Open Transport is quite complex and few people know anything about it. Socket programming is well-understood and well-documented, and works pretty much unchanged on Mac OS X, Linux & Windows.
I guess I'll go with openplay then Smile
Do you know of any examples/tutorials on using it?
Sockets can be used on OS9 by linking to GUSI: http://sourceforge.net/projects/gusi/ A carbon port is also available here: http://www.cwi.nl/~jack/macpython.html
rvangaal
Unregistered

For a game and for portability's sake (also for finding useful stuff on the net), I'd definitely go for plain sockets (socket(), bind() etc).

And for a game, look into UDP. I don't even use TCP/IP.

Things can get non-trivial though, but for LANs, a simpler UDP setup quickly works.
Quote:And for a game, look into UDP. I don't even use TCP/IP.

Um, if you use UDP, you use IP. I think you meant just TCP.

What most games do is use TCP for state-related information such as player logins or player messaging, and UDP for dynamic, quickly changing information, such as positional updates.

Wade
rvangaal
Unregistered

Indeed, I use IP, it was just that TCP isn't mentioned too often in itself.

For player messaging, be sure to handle things in a separate thread.
Actually, I myself don't use a separate thread, and it's fine. Then again, I don't use TCP. Smile I use UDP for all communications; after all, you'll need reliable messages (like spawning a car) anyhow, but preferably without the timeout troubles (let alone flexibility issues) of TCP.

Also note that I use non-blocking UDP sockets. Haven't found a reason yet to do any networking in threads, frankly.