Multiplayer and networking

AJ Infinity
Unregistered

I'm totally new to multiplayer programming (in C++, I've had experience in Flash/Java). How do I do it? With a GameRanger plugin? Please, help. I'm completely lost.

I've figured out sockets, but I want full multiplayer.
Quote this message in a reply
Sta7ic
Unregistered

Multiplayer requires that determine if you have a server-client or game machine setup (handles workload vs. broadcast action msgs), construct a packet structure, and determine how things can go wrong and rig exceptions/error handling (if != 0), at the very SWAGing least.

Ref gamedev.net and/or _Game Programming Gems [1]_, 1.11 A Network Protocol for Online Games, by Andrew Kirmse. There's a link he cites, but it's dead.

Other resources will help, m'thinks.

-Sta7ic

EDIT: Had link, checked, removed.
Man, multiplayer games is a very complex subject. Connecting the clients to the host is going to be the least of your worries.

Some important messages have to be distributed via TCP protocol while player position is broadcast via UDP. On top of all that, you need to decide how the application is going to handle all messages, from username/password combos to things like player roster, which player has just connected and is waiting in the lobby, chat messages (for team-only, public, lobby-only, or in-game-only), and the list goes on.

Also, you have to worry about bandwidth budget, which changes drastically with the quality of the connection of the players, cheating and aimbots, and a lot of issues that come with latency and bad pings to avoid "warping".

I made a multiplayer game just to have more than 60% of the current players requesting a single-player mode because they have little interest in playing online. As much as I want to make more multiplayer games, my next title will be single-player only.