Basic Steps for Creating 3D Games

Fguru
Unregistered

Hi,

I am working in a Multimedia Company as a Multimedia Developer, My expertise in 2D and 3D graphics and Animation, mostly use 3D studio Max and other graphic tools, I want to know how can I creat a good 3D game without using much programming. Is there any good software to create games with using max.

Plz help me out.

Fguru
Quote this message in a reply
Founder
Do a search on this topic....

Then check out dim3. Also think about Director with its 3D features since your background is in multimedia.

Carlos A. Camacho,
Founder
iDevGames
Fguru
Unregistered

Thanks for response,

I like to know how to make games in 3D studio Max, is Dim3 creates 3d games.

I just want to know the basic steps, how I start to end.

Thanks
w_reade
Unregistered

An observationÖ

3d Studio Max, being AFAIK not a macintosh application, suggests to me you will be developing on a non-macintosh platform. Therefore you are likely to get better responses elsewhere on the web. Gamedev.net has some useful PC-oriented resources.

That said, the help I can give in simple steps is:

1: Design your game, in a fair amount of detail. Know what you want to do.

2: Find a programmer. Better still, learn to program yourself. You will almost certainly not make a 3d game without programming, and probably quite a lot of programming at that. You will need someone to do the inevitable programming, and ideally you need an understanding of what they will actually be doing.

3d studio max is indeed widely used for creating game assets, and I believe quite complex game-related attributes can be given to the models within max - but the game still has to interpret them, display them in the right places, make them act with intelligence if appropriate - they have to make the game, in other words.