cocoa question/issue

Nibbie
Hello all. I am porting my Windows screensaver called Dream Aquarium over to mac OSX. I am fairly new to cocoa but have been doing pretty well with the port so far. This screensaver is quite involved and has its own gui interface for adjusting parameters, adding fish, managing fishtanks etc… It's all openGL using the screensaver framework (based on Cocoa's ScreenSaverView class which is a subclass of NSView) and I am capturing and processing all the keyboard and mouse events.

The issue I'm struggling with is being able to opening a file requester from the screensaver (for the user to choose images). I can open an NSOpenPanel but it puts the panel on the desktop, underneath my fullscreen openGL window so it's inaccessible. My solution to that was to miniaturize the screensaver (to temporarily reveal the desktop and file requester) and then de-minaturize it after the user chooses the file. The problem I'm getting is that when the desktop/filerequester is shown, if the user clicks anything on the desktop outside of the file requester, my screensaver seems to receive a shut-down (stopAnimation) signal. I'm not knowledgeable enough with cocoa to determine what event or action message the ScreenSaverView might be receiving that tells it to shut down. I assume if I could capture this event or action message I could prevent the shutdown? I feel like I'm fighting the ScreenSaverView's natural tendency to shut off.

-Does anyone have insight as to what event or action the ScreenSaverView may be receiving? How I could go about determining this? Is there some way to monitor all the events and action messages that ScreenSaverView is getting?
-Am I even going about this the right way? Is there a way to put the file requester right on my fullscreen OpenGL window?

Thanks all for any response.
Quote this message in a reply
Luminary