Photoshop sizing and dpi

Nibbie
Hey everyone,

My name is Martin and im new to game development and design
Im trying to design my first character and the hero of my game,

I could use some pointers as to how i create my the sprites.

Lemme go through my process so far.

I created a 3000 x 3000 document, with a 300dpi in photoshop.
then drev the character like i wanted him.

Then i used the animation bar and animated a simple walk scene.

But obviously i dont want it to be 3000x 3000 pixels, so once my walk cycle was done, i scaled my character down to about 70x70, and the result is kinda MEH,
the eyes of the character became WAY to blurry, and the iris kinda meltet with the eyebrows..

SO, what am i doing wrong? should i start at 70x70 ? lower DPI?
Would it yield a better result if i made it 256px and then scaled it down in the code?
am i scaling it wrong in photoshop? (i just scaled it down but changing the image size)
Quote this message in a reply
There are many different interpolation algorithms that can be used for scaling (nearest neighbor, linear, cubic, and a whole lot of other specialized ones). I haven't used Photoshop in years, but Gimp lets you pick one when you scale an image; I'd presume Photoshop does the same. You'll likely get nicer results from pre-scaling than doing it at runtime, but that depends on the effect you want to achieve.

Scaling bitmap graphics is unfortunately a messy business that often gives unpleasing results. You may get better results if your original size is a multiple of the scaled one, but I usually prefer to either draw at the target size, or use vector graphics in the first place.
⌘-R in Chief