I need a new art program

I need to update my art program. I've been using an ancient copy of Corel PhotoPaint 6 that I run from my Windows XP virtual machine via VMWare Fusion. What I have loved about this program is that it is perfect for pixel art. With the brush tool, I can set individual pixels to exactly the RGB color I want and not have to worry about it trying to do add/subtract, blending, antialiasing, or whatever. The problem, though, is how the antivirus on Windows keeps kicking in and slowing the virtual machine to a crawl. It's finally become annoying enough for me to want to make a change.

So, can anyone recommend a native Mac art program that would be perfect for pixel art?

My Game Company
Creator of Dirk Dashing, Rick Rocket, and Fashion Cents Deluxe
Quote this message in a reply
I'm no expert on art programs, but try out Pixelmator ( http://www.pixelmator.com/ ) and see if that's what you need.
Alex
Pixelmator is pretty good. If you don't mind the foreign UI, GIMP is also a solid choice.
Photoshop makes for a fine pixel editor if you tweak the right prefs. Might be overkill if all you need is a pixel editor though!
I'm still using Photoshop as well.
Pixen was designed for pixel art. Some people like it, but I don't care for it too much. It's been abandoned for a while.

http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/13363/pixen

I use Photoshop CS4.

Howling Moon Software - CrayonBall for Mac and iPhone, Contract Game Dev Work
Pixen is pretty crappy.

I recommend Pixelmator for native, but most recently I've been using Graphics Gale (http://www.humanbalance.net/gale/us/ ) under Parallels. I wish they made something comparable for OS X =\
Thanks for the suggestions, everyone! Looks like they uploaded a new version of Pixen a couple of days ago - it's dated June 15, 2011.

I downloaded Pixen and the Pixelmator trial. Looks like both require Mac OS 10.6. I'm still running 10.5. Guess I can't put off the upgrade much longer...

My Game Company