Java - Slick - Deleting Images

Apprentice
Hey there, good people of iDevGames.

I'm various_names__ and I've been reading the forums for a while, and I couldn't find one thing;

I wanted to know how (or if) you could remove (read: delete, get totally rid of) and image in slick, after a certain event happens.

Like in this pseudo code:

Code:
...Blahblah,other-stuff
public Image nyancat = null;
nyancat = new Image("Desktop/pictures");

putOnScreen(nyancat);

//This is where I want to remove the image, for example
remove.nyancat();
...andotherstuff

I have a Graphics component (or whatever its called), which I use for drawing the image, and i use an Image data type from the
Code:
org.newdawn.slick.Image
library to load, and keep the image in.

I wanted to know this because I'm a bit of a newbie to Slick/Java, and so I'm learning by making a simple space shooter game, and I would like to keep it in top quality (framerate-wise Wink), and I'm worried that if I start loading too many bullets the game might lag.

Oh, btw, one last thing; what is the optimal way of loading the bullets? Should I load them individually, or off a list, or what? Any help is appreciated.

Thanks!
various_names__
Quote this message in a reply
I'm not quite sure what you mean when you say you want to remove an image.

Probably you just want to stop drawing the image on the screen, so don't call nyancat.draw() in your render loop (or graphics.draw(nyancat); )

I expect slick to handle any number of bullets you can manage. I render several hundred objects with slick each frame and it's no problem. Just try it. If you do run into performance problems, come back and we can discuss more solutions.

If you actually do need to destroy images, the Image class does have a destroy method- but you almost certainly should not be calling destroy unless you are dynamically creating images in your game using render textures or something like that.

You should be doing something like:
Code: