New iPod or repair old iPod

Founder
Hello all,
My brother called to say his old iPod doesn't play sound anymore. It functions fine, but no audio via the headphones. (He tried a different pair). He went through a reset but it seems to be some other issue. He says one site will do a diagnosis for $20 and then whatever repair is needed. My guess is that it is a 30GB model. Any good repair shops online? Or should he just trade it in for for a Nano?

Carlos A. Camacho,
Founder
iDevGames
Quote this message in a reply
Founder
Yesterday my wife and I went to an Apple store. It's about 45min from my house. After getting a kick at viewing my wife's blog on an iPad I went to 'the counter'. This was only my 3rd visit to an Apple store. I've never talked to any of the staff. So really, I had no idea how the store works. So I venture to the counter and ask, 'Can someone help me with a broken iPod?' I was asked 'Do you have an appointment?' I worked in retail consumer electronic sales for 7 years (sales and management), so I was a bit confused. 'Appointment?' The 'genius' behind the counter informed me that I would need an appointment. I said, 'So I need to go home and make an appointment, and then drive back?' Since they were 30 min away from closing for the day, it would be too late. I looked around the store and counted 8 Apple staff standing around doing nothing.. I'm sure they were ready to do something, should a customer get stuck using an iPad or need to buy some iPod accessory. As I tried everything at home to troubleshoot my brother's iPod, I was (am) pretty certain the logic board was shot. So I would assume it needs to go back to Apple. I tried to explain this to the 'tween' at the counter. She says 'We don't fix iPods.' ??? I walked out.